Skip to content

In the state of Pennsylvania, it is illegal for a person under the age of 21 to purchase, possess, or consume alcohol. However, underage people try to break this law with the use of fake identification. Also referred to as fake IDs, these are often used by minors to buy alcohol and be admitted to certain establishments. While many people do not see this as a big deal, using a fake ID is a serious offense in the state of Pennsylvania. Using or making a fake ID can result in legal consequences that can impact a person for the rest of their life.

What is Considered Fake Identification?

Identification cards state a person’s name and age as well as more information regarding who they are. When fake identification is used, it is done with the intent to lie about who they are or what their age is. People use fake, manufactured, altered, or other people’s identifications to pass off as their own. In Pennsylvania, it is illegal to use an ID that is fake, has incorrect information, or belongs to another person. Using a fake ID can result in certain charges and consequences.

Consequences of Using a Fake ID

If an underage person uses a fake identification to misrepresent themselves in order to purchase alcohol, they can face serious consequences. For a first offense, they may be subject to:

  • A summary offense
  • License suspension for 90 days
  • Potential jail time up to 90 days

For a second and subsequent offense using a fake ID, the offender can face the following penalties:

  • A misdemeanor charge in the third-degree
  • License suspension for 2 years
  • Potential jail time up to 1 year
  • A fine up to $500

Consequences of Carrying a Fake ID

People are not only charged for using a fake ID, but if they are found with one on their person. In the event that this happens, a first-time offender may face the following:

  • A summary offense
  • 90-day license suspension
  • A 90-day maximum sentence in jail

For a second offense, the individual may be subject to the following consequences:

  • A misdemeanor in the third-degree
  • One year license suspension
  • A fine up to $500
  • A one-year maximum sentence in jail

Consequences of Manufacturing or Selling a Fake ID

It is also illegal in the state of Pennsylvania to make or sell a fake ID to an underage individual. If a person is found doing so, they can face separate charges and consequences. The charge is considered a misdemeanor in the second-degree. This comes with a minimum fine of $1,000 for a first offense. For each subsequent offense, the fine may be upgraded to $2,500. Being convicted of this charge can result in a maximum amount of two years in jail.

Contact our Firm

Attorney Newman has represented clients in Pennsylvania for over 45 years. If you need an experienced attorney to help guide you through the personal injury claims process or with any criminal defense matters, Attorney Newman is ready to help. Contact The Law Office of Neal E. Newman today to schedule a consultation.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

 
Do I need an attorney for a first or second DUI offense in PA?

If you’ve experienced a first or second DUI offense in PA, your liberty is at stake. A conviction could have a severe impact on your current job, your career, and your ability to drive. And if you were intoxicated while driving because of a substance abuse problem, you should consider…

Read More
 
How Can Drowsy Driving Cause a Pennsylvania Car Accident?

When people are given a driver’s license, it is done on the contingency that they will operate their vehicle safely. Individuals who fail to do so and drive negligently can put not only themselves, but others in harm’s way. There are many actions that are considered negligent driving, such as…

Read More