Skip to content

If you have been charged with a DUI in Pennsylvania, you face significant consequences. Law enforcement in Pennsylvania take these offenses very seriously and endeavor to hold you accountable. If this is your first offense, be aware that the consequences depend heavily on your blood alcohol content. The higher the BAC, the more severe the penalties will be. Pennsylvania has three categories of Blood Alcohol Content which are factors in the determination of consequences. Retaining a criminal defense attorney is critical.

General Impairment: .08 to .099% BAC, Undetermined BAC

  • Ungraded misdemeanor
  • Probation up to 6 months
  • Fine of $300
  • Engagement in the alcohol highway safety school
  • Possible mandatory treatment

High BAC: .10 to .159% BAC

  • Ungraded misdemeanor
  • License suspension of 12-months
  • Imprisonment of 48 hours to 6 months
  • Fine of $500-$5000
  • Engagement in the alcohol highway safety school
  • Possible mandatory treatment

Highest BAC: Greater than .16%

  • Ungraded misdemeanor
  • License suspension of 12-months
  • Imprisonment of 72 hours to 6 months
  • Fine of $1000-$5000
  • Engagement in the alcohol highway safety school
  • Possible mandatory treatment

If you have been arrested for a DUI in Pennsylvania, contact Attorney Newman today.

Attorney Newman has represented clients in Pennsylvania for over 45 years. If you need an experienced attorney to help guide you through the personal injury claims process or with any criminal defense matters, Attorney Newman is ready to help. Contact The Law Office of Neal E. Newman today to schedule a consultation.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

 
How Can Drowsy Driving Cause a Pennsylvania Car Accident?

When people are given a driver’s license, it is done on the contingency that they will operate their vehicle safely. Individuals who fail to do so and drive negligently can put not only themselves, but others in harm’s way. There are many actions that are considered negligent driving, such as…

Read More
 
What are Pennsylvania’s Firearm Laws?

While the country’s second amendment allows people to own firearms, states can make their own restrictions on ownership. The state of Pennsylvania holds certain rules regarding who can own a firearm and how they can be used within the state. If these laws are violated, the individual can be charged…

Read More