Skip to content

People who operate a vehicle are required to follow the rules of the road. This ensures the safety of others as well as themselves. If they fail to drive safely, they can cause an accident to happen that results in serious injuries. One of the most important rules of the road that is frequently disregarded is the speed limit. If a person is found driving over the speed limit in the state of Pennsylvania, they can receive a speeding ticket that comes with certain consequences.

Pennsylvania Driving Law

The state of Pennsylvania has two types of speeding laws. This includes a “basic speeding law” and “absolute limits.” Basic speeding law prohibits a driver from going a speed that is “greater than is reasonable and prudent” under present conditions. It also means they cannot drive faster than the vehicle needs to make a clear and safe stop. For example, a certain speed may be safe on a sunny day, whereas it may not if there is ice on the road. 

The absolute speed limit in Pennsylvania is the speed that is designated for the road. Throughout the state, this can range from 15 mph to 70 mph depending on the road. If a person drives faster than the road’s limit, they are violating the law.

Speeding Point System

When a person is found speeding, they can receive a traffic ticket that results in points on their license. This penalizes the individual on their driving record. This can impact their car insurance payments as well as lead to a possible license suspension. The amount of points a driver may receive is dependent upon how fast they were going over the speed limit. In Pennsylvania, the point system is as follows:

  • 2 points for driving 6 to 10 mph over the speed limit
  • 3 points for driving 11 to 15 mph over the speed limit
  • 4 points for driving 16 to 25 mph over the speed limit
  • 5 points for driving 26 to 30 mph over the speed limit
  • 5 points for driving 31 mph and more over the speed limit

It is important to know that if the violation occurs in an active work zone, this can also include a 15-day license suspension. After a driver accumulates 6 points on their license, they are required to take a written driver safety exam. If they pass, 2 points can be removed from their record. If they fail, their license can be suspended.

Cost of Speeding Tickets

The issuance of a speeding ticket also leads to certain fines. The amount a driver may have to pay in fines can depend on the speed they were going when they were pulled over by law enforcement. For most speeding violations in Pennsylvania, the fine is $35 in addition to $2 for every mile more than five miles per hour over the limit. However, if the limit is 65 mph or higher, the fine is $42.50 with $2 for every mile more than five miles per hour over the limit. If the driver speeds more than 11 miles per hour over the limit in a school zone, they can be fined $500.

Contact our Firm

Attorney Newman has represented clients in Pennsylvania for over 45 years. If you need an experienced attorney to help guide you through the personal injury claims process or with any criminal defense matters, Attorney Newman is ready to help. Contact The Law Office of Neal E. Newman today to schedule a consultation.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

 
How Can Drowsy Driving Cause a Pennsylvania Car Accident?

When people are given a driver’s license, it is done on the contingency that they will operate their vehicle safely. Individuals who fail to do so and drive negligently can put not only themselves, but others in harm’s way. There are many actions that are considered negligent driving, such as…

Read More
 
What are Pennsylvania’s Firearm Laws?

While the country’s second amendment allows people to own firearms, states can make their own restrictions on ownership. The state of Pennsylvania holds certain rules regarding who can own a firearm and how they can be used within the state. If these laws are violated, the individual can be charged…

Read More